REVIEW | Every Exquisite Thing

Series: N/A
 Matthew Quick
 young adult, contemporary
 May 31, 2016
Publisher: Headline
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

From Matthew Quick, bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook, comes a heartfelt, unconventional and moving novel for readers who love John Green and Annabel Pitcher.

Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the role of dutiful daughter, hard-working student, and star athlete for as long as she can remember. But when a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper - the mysterious, out-of-print cult-classic - the rebel within Nanette awakens.

As she befriends the reclusive author, falls in love with a young but troubled poet, and attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, Nanette learns the hard way that sometimes rebellion comes at a high price.

A celebration of the self and the formidable power of story, Every Exquisite Thing is Matthew Quick at his finest.

*             *             *

I really wish I read this when I was in high school!

Hello to my first Matthew Quick read and review! I never read any of his books although I told myself about twenty times that I'll buy and read Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock. After reading Every Exquisite Thing, I'm more eager to read Matthew Quick's books :)

{ 4 Things I Like about Every Exquisite Thing }

I connected with Nanette.
Connection with the main character is one of the sweetest thing about reading contemporary novels. I'm not a bit coming of age reader (and Every Exquisite Thing really felt like one) but I ended up loving this book! While Nanette and I may not exactly be similar, her dilemma was my dilemma then. I experienced being pushed to do things people around me expects me to do, doing something I'm not exactly sure I like, and all around being confused and scared about the future.

Nanette's voice - narration. 
Honestly, I do not know what's so special about it but I ended up just loving it. I'm guessing it's Nanette's voice that really captured me. The way the narration shifted to third person when Nanette decided to talk in third person. Nanette is an introvert and it's something that's quite difficult to be especially when you're at that age when you have to go from young adult to adult and make decisions. big decisions. Nanette's voice really captured that confusion, fear, and endless pondering about things.

A bit thought provoking.
I wouldn't say it's highly thought provoking. It's a good leisure read yet at the same time, Every Exquisite Thing allowed me look at myself and think - think about who I am right now. Am I being me? Or am I being someone the society wants me to be? Someone my parents want me to be? Am I making my decisions based on what the society wants me to do?
This book generally makes me think about that at some point.

Involes a book that brought people together.
I highly enjoyed the fact that this book started with a book - The Bubblegum Reaper. I love how it brought three kids together. Three kids who have their own problems yet quite similar to each other. They have their own reactions to the book and different endings. They had book discussions, mention words from the book, and even had a personal relationship with the author.

OVERALL, Every Exquisite Thing is a book that I really wish I read in high school. It wouldn't help me decide for my future, of course, but it will help me look at myself further before making a decision. It has a relatable main character, an interesting book that brought her to meet other people, and a great journey to self discovery. Every Exquisite Thing is a highly recommended read!

~I received this book from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review~

*             *             *

{ how about you }
Was there ever a book that inspired you to be yourself? Have you read books that involves a book within it (like a story within a story)? How do you feel about them?

let's connect!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...