[REVIEW] Evil Games

Series: D.I. Kim Stone #2
 Angela Marsons
 adult, mystery, thriller, crime fiction, suspense, contemporary
May 29, 2015
Purchase: Amazon | B&N

The greater the evil, the more deadly the game ... 
When a rapist is found mutilated in a brutal attack, Detective Kim Stone and her team are called in to bring a swift resolution. But, as more vengeful killings come to light, it soon becomes clear that there is someone far more sinister at work. 
With the investigation quickly gathering momentum, Kim soon finds herself exposed to great danger and in the sights of a lethal individual undertaking their own twisted experiment. 
Up against a sociopath who seems to know her every weakness, for Detective Stone, each move she makes could be deadly. As the body count starts to mount, Kim will have to dig deeper than ever before to stop the killing. And this time - it’s personal. 
Fans of Rachel Abbott, Val McDermid and Mark Billingham will be gripped by this exceptional new voice in British crime fiction.

*             *             *

you can read my review of the first book in the D.I. Kim Stone series here. this review DOES NOT contain any spoilers from the first book so there's nothing to worry about.


I really enjoyed Silent Scream but it didn't fully absorbed me. D.I. Kim Stone, the emotionally broken detective has really done it this time though.

Mystery! Kim is investigating two (2) cases here, separate case,which I think is quite unusual but it 
was thoughtfully written. Case one (1) a six (was it? can't remember the exact age but somewhere around that age) year old girl being abused by her father (to be specific, he's taking lewd videos of her). While the father is already in jail, Kim was able to discover than another person is involved. Case two (2) is the the murder of a man recently released prison. He was stabbed and killed by the woman he raped years ago thus the case being assumed as a simple revenge. But after interviewing the woman, Kim is convinced that there's something more sinister going on here.

Solving the Case. I think Angela Marsons is really good at presenting multiple cases in one novel. I like how she placed two cases in here - first is something that will make you think who did what, and second is something that will greatly absorbed you. I ended up immensely engaged in both especially the second one which involved a sociopath psychiatrist (Alex).

While both cases greatly twisted Kim emotionally, the second one definitely hit her hard - her mind circling around her head until the book ended. I love that Marsons involved the POV of the psychiatrist. It's really interesting to read how she plays with her patients and give them criminal minds (okay, not really but she makes them think that what they do is something not to be guilty of). It's also thrilling to read how Kim delves into Alex's traps, words, and even her background and past, in order to find out her plans/intentions. The Silent battle between Kim and Alex is certainly my favorite parts in here. They were both interesting and psychological.

The establishment of Kim's team really worked for me here. In Silent Scream, I barely remember them but this time around, Bryant is definitely one of my favorites already. He may not be as keen as Kim but the balance of seriousness and comic relief (although Stacey and Kev are surely the main relief. The two of them were really just fun to read) in his character makes me like him. He's also the one that always checks on Kim and would always knows is something's amiss.

The development on Kim is really interesting, There's this part of her that's really considering accepting or finally burying her past for good. How she'll handle herself after her encounter with Alex will be an interesting part of the series.

Revelation. Not very surprising, honestly, although how Kim faced Alex herself was a really gripping part. The climax was intense and had me reading late at night. The ending was great although not as memorable and beautiful as Silent Scream but it really makes me excited for the third book.

OVERALL, Evil Games is a truly gripping crime fiction. I kept me reading all night. It made my mind think. I was fully engaged in the entire investigation process especially on Kim's encounters with Alex. This is definitely a MUST READ!

*             *             *

What I Like: (1) the thrilling pace, (2) the engaging investigation, (3) the psychological aspects, (4) Kim's team, (5) the development on Kim, (6) the gripping climax, (7) that sociopath psychiatrist (and how much of a bitch she is, haha)

What I Didn’t Like: (1) the beginning confused me a bit (but I just read on and I eventually found my way on things), (2) the ending wasn't very memorable for me

~I received this book in exchange for an honest review~

follow links:
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...