BLOG TOUR | Unplugged

full tour schedule can be found at: The Fantastic Flying Book Club
Series: The Wired #1
 Donna Freitas
 young adult, science fiction, dystopia
Published: June 21, 2016
Publisher: Harper Children's
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | iTunesKobo

The first book in a provocative new series from acclaimed author Donna Freitas—Feed for a new generation. 
Humanity is split into the App World and the Real World—an extravagant virtual world for the wealthy and a dying physical world for the poor. Years ago, Skylar Cruz’s family sent her to the App World for a chance at a better life. 
Now Skye is a nobody, a virtual sixteen-year-old girl without any glamorous effects or expensive downloads to make her stand out in the App World. Yet none of that matters to Skye. All she wants is a chance to unplug and see her mother and sister again. 
But when the borders between worlds suddenly close, Skye loses that chance. Desperate to reach her family, Skye risks everything to get back to the physical world. Once she arrives, however, she discovers a much larger, darker reality than the one she remembers. 
In the tradition of M. T. Anderson’s Feed and Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies, Unplugged kicks off a thrilling and timely sci-fi series for teens from an award-winning writer.
*             *             *

Unplugged is nothing like any of the books I've read before!

{ 4 things I like about Unplugged }

The App World.
Unplugged is basically the first book I read that had an actual virtual world - a virtual world where people actually live for good. It's like a dream world for some: living virtually, no physical pain (ever!), no sickness (why get sick when you're virtual? coded?), everything's instant (just download the app!). It 's like the world of tomorrow!

Dystopian Society.
I know I talk a lot about how much I love mysteries and crime fictions and historical fictions but now I'd like to talk about how much I LOVE dystopian novels. I LOVE exploring worlds with corrupt political systems, and a world that tries to cover its ugliness. Unplugged is one of those books for me.
At first, Freitas explored the App World that gives you virtually anything and everything but then again what of the Real World? What's happening there? The second half of the book explored the problem the Real World is actually facing and that involves the unfortunate people who can't afford to go into the App World. It's always like that, yes? The division of the poor and the rich is not exactly the interesting part of this novel as we've seen it before over and over. But it's how they came into terms - how the rich people of the App World and the poor people of the Real World's interests met.

Skylar Cruz.
Skye is a determined heroine (don't they all are? or almost all?). She's more than willing to do anything to see her family again. It's her main goal. When the borders between the App World and the Real World closed, Skye had to do something to see her family again - her mother and her sister, Jude. Skylar is your emotional heroine but it's okay. It's okay to be emotional, to be overtaken by somethings. She's also strong and brave and curious and stubborn.

Twists that caught me off guard!
Some twists are predictable and some are not. While I did predicted one of the twists of the book, other things that followed it just completely blew me away. I basically flipped tables, screamed OHMYGOD so loud my neighbor heard me, and gripped my reader so hard it almost turned into dust. Ah, it made me mad (in an honestly good bookish way, you know what I mean). It shocked me. I don't even know how to tell you, friends, about it because I don't want to ruin things for you. Just read this! IT'S SO INCREDIBLY AMAZING!

My only gripe for this book is Skye's relationship with her best friend, Inara. I think it's because I just didn't like Inara - she's a bit closed minded and too absorbed into the App World. But who could blame her? She grew up there. Her whole family's there.

OVERALL, Unplugged is a dystopian novel that sucked me into its engaging world. The App World is basically the beginning of its awesomeness. The conflict of this dystopian society is basically what fueled my interest in this book (and this series! ahhh, I'm sooo reading this series!!! Book 2 when?) - it's well written, interesting, and kind of thought provoking. 

~I received this book from the publisher through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review~

*             *             *

{ how about you }
Have you read books that a virtual world - a virtual world were people live there for good? How do you feel about this? Would you like to live in a virtual world for good? How do you feel about living your body? The experience of the real world?

*             *             *

Donna Freitas is an author of fiction, nonfiction, and articles that appear in newspapers, magazines, and on blogs. Born in Rhode Island, Donna now splits her time between New York City and Barcelona.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


let's connect!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...